The 6 Best Gluten-Free Liquor & Hard Alcohol Brands

One of the most frustrating parts of having an allergy is that it tends to get in the way of your fun. No one wants to be that girl asking the diner waiter at 4am whether or not the French fries are fried in a dedicated fryer, while her friends casually begin housing mozzarella sticks. So I’ve been a little negligent when it comes to sourcing gluten-free liquor when out. And it took me a while to overcome my denial that not all bottles of vodka, gin and rum are actually gluten-free, even though in theory, like many old world fare, their original production was very much so.

The Best Gluten-Free Hard Liquors and Alcohols

I’m not alone in this, mind you. My friend Jessie is gluten-free and a good ole Southern girl. She has refused to give up whiskey and remains convinced that the distilling process removes most of the gluten to justify her continued devotion to mint juleps.

But since this post on gluten-free beers was so popular, I thought it was worth doing some investigating. And I was surprised to find out that just because Grey Goose and Kettle are fancy, does not mean that they are wheat free. Oops.

In order to maintain my status as a semi-easy going party girl, I put together a list below of the best and most mainstream gluten-free alcohol options available (one from each category – bourbon, vodka, gin, tequila, rum, etc.). Unless you’re in a desperate situation–like say, at a wedding after after party in a hotel room with all of your college friends trying to continue the fun with one measly bottle of vodka and no mixers except for the jar of artisan honey you received as part of your welcome bag (which, for the record, tastes really delicious with vodka)–you should be able to find at least one of these options to sip on.

Drink up!


p.s. Looking for creative ways to cook your way through these bottles? Check out my list of healthy boozy recipes here.

Ideas-Logo 1. Makers Mark

When I first was diagnosed with a gluten allergy, I just assumed that all alcohols in the whiskey family were off limits. This was very upsetting, as hot toddy season is my favorite season. It wasn’t until Chef Race, when I declined Claire Robinson’s offer to buy me a Jack Daniels Black Label on the rocks that I realized that bourbon is traditionally made from corn. Unfortunately, many brands use malt or barley to form part of the mix. But Makers Mark is on many gluten-free lists, and though the Lapines are a devout Jack Daniels family, it’s my favorite bourbon option (don’t tell).

[ADDENDUM: since writing this post based on information on, others have reported that Marker’s Mark uses wheat in addition to corn. I’ve consumed it without reaction, but please avoid if you are very sensitive.]

2. Patron Silver

Most tequilas are gluten-free, but beware of the cheaper stuff which, regardless of gluten, will give you a hangover akin to number 4 in this list. Patron silver just so happens to be GF, which is a relief, because I am a frequent, if reluctant recipient of it in shot form. Jose Cuervo is also gluten-free if you’re looking for a more affordable option.

3. Smirnoff

Most Smirnoff products are gluten-free, but if you’re very sensitive, I would avoid some of the flavors. Smirnoff Ice is not gluten-free. I wish I had known this when “icing” people was a thing. That would have been an amazing get-out-of-jail free card. It’s a pretty ubiquitous vodka, so I try to drink it when I can, even if I get weird looks at classy establishments when I actively request Smirnoff.

4. Bacardi Superior

The vast majority of rums are gluten-free. Bacardi has confirmed that their products are – all except Bacardi Silver. Captain Morgan is also GF if you like dark rum.

5. Hendricks

A Hendricks G&T with cucumber is one of the more delightful cocktails on this planet. It’s also widely available abroad, so a good option if you don’t know how to say “is this gluten-free?” in French. Here’s a confirmation from one of the brand reps. Bombay Saphire is also gluten-free.

6. Campari

I researched this one pretty rigorously and found some contradictory information. However, this site puts Campari on their GF list. There’s nothing in the ingredients that would suggest otherwise. My mom (also GF) and I drink a lot of Campari soda before dinner. We are kind of old Italian men at heart.

NOTE: everyone’s sensitivities are different, so please do not take my word that you will not have a reaction to these products. Proceed with caution if you are highly allergic and test the waters to see if you can tolerate each brand. I’ve provided links where I can to others’ research on these alcohols.

PPS: I am not an alcoholic! Just a 27-year-old in the food biz that likes to have fun. My Friday nights home alone watching Sex and the City are far less exciting to blog about.

Want more gluten-free, healthy living tips? If so, you’ll love:

The Best Gluten Free Pasta Brands and Recipes to Match

The Best Organic Gluten-Free Pasta Brands

7 Mistakes People Make When Cooking Gluten-Free Pasta and How to Fix Them | Feed Me Phoebe

7 Common Mistakes People Make When Cooking Gluten-Free Pasta

The Best Gluten-Free Crackers - my favorite brands and gluten-free dips to go with them

The Best Gluten-Free Cracker Brands and Easy Appetizers to Serve with Them 

And for more gluten-free recipes, like this parm-free baked eggplant, click here.


Comment61 Share This!

61 Responses to The 6 Best Gluten-Free Liquor & Hard Alcohol Brands

  1. Kelly says:

    What a great list, Phoebe! Always good to have a go-to in each category. Also, you must try Tito’s if you’re a vodka fan. A great, and gluten-free, choice—it’s my fave.

  2. Pingback: The 7 Best Gluten-Free Beers (and Ciders) For Summer | Feed Me Phoebe

  3. Pingback: BLT Cocktail Recipe - Bourbon, Lemon and Tonic | Feed Me PhoebeFeed Me Phoebe

  4. Mary says:

    What about scotch?

  5. Robin says:

    byejoe is another great gluten-free drink I’ve found. It’s a brand of baijiu, the traditional alcohol of China.

  6. Jack says:

    Bourbon is based on corn, but always has flavoring grains as well. Mostly rye, barley and wheat. Maker’s uses wheat and they are pretty proud of it because it’s a little less common.

    If Markers Mark has said they are gluten free, that lends some weight to the people who say distilled beverages are ok if they don’t have gluten added after the fact.

  7. jamie says:

    Are kinky vodka or sweet revenge whiskey gluten free?

  8. Pingback: Gluten Free Liquor Brands | my gluten free diet

  9. Emilie says:

    Thanks this is great information for celiacs who like to drink. Please keep it up

  10. Kathy Holtz says:

    Thank you for in info. I’m just trying to find things that I can have. It is a lot to take in.

  11. Pingback: Gluten Free Brands Of Vodka | my gluten free diet

  12. Andrew says:

    Per the Celiac Disease Foundation:

    “Distilled beverages and vinegars

    Most distilled alcoholic beverages and vinegars are gluten-free. These distilled products do not contain any harmful gluten peptides even if they are made from gluten-containing grains. Research indicates that the gluten peptide is too large to carry over in the distillation process, leaving the resulting liquid gluten-free.

    Wines and hard liquor/distilled beverages are gluten-free. However, beers, ales, lagers, malt beverages and malt vinegars that are made from gluten-containing grains are not distilled and therefore are not gluten-free. There are several brands of gluten-free beers available in the United States and abroad.”

    • Cristy says:

      I have heard this so many times but I have celiac along with an actual allergy to gluten and I don’t care what that statement says just because of the distillation process DOES NOT make it gluten free! I have had severe reactions to them trusting that statement.

      • Carl says:

        Cristy is correct, that statement sounds good in theory, but in practice it is just not true! So often I’ve had a reaction and it traces back to vinegar… or alcohol distilled from gluten grains. Like clockwork, guaranteed 100%. There is no question that some people still have gluten reactions to these products – case closed. Now we need to know why. Is there an unforseen process that carries some gluten into the final product? Or is it a cross-reactivity issue where only fragments of the protein are carried over but they are enough to trigger responses in some people despite not technically being gluten?

        • amanda says:

          Yes, I agree with both of your replies Carl and Christy! I had an awful reaction to a Gin Tom Collins I thought I’d be safe with. Higher shelf liquor is “supposed” to be safer. Not always the case. Basic science of distillation doesn’t take into account a sensitivity that thousands of us suffer from. I’m so thankful for this list, and for others that have successfully researched and shared their findings so that more people are able to find safe products to enjoy! Nothing was more heartbreaking than my love for German / Belgian style wheat beers and thinking inwas never able to enjoy one again …until I found a list similar to this one but on the top 10 GF beers. I have found a Belgian one that makes me happy. So thank you Phoebe and others to helping us all enjoy ourselves safely and without the fear of an awful reaction! ♡

  13. Jon says:

    Bourbon, like all whiskey, by definition is made from grains. Bourbon has a higher percentage of corn, but still has lots of grains in the mash. You don’t have to believe me, here’s the manufacturer’s website:

    Of the list above, the actual grain free ones are Patron tequila (or any other 100% agave tequila) and Bacardi rum (or any decent rum). Good tequila is distilled from 100% agave and will be labeled as such. Rum is distilled from sugar cane.

    Makers is made from a grain and corn mash. Smirnoff is distilled from grains, and Hendrick’s is neutral grain alcohol with infused botanticals.

    Right now, the only commercially available gin that isn’t made from neutral grain spirits is Monopolowa. They also make a potato vodka that’s a decent call spirit. If you want to upgrade, I recommend Tito’s (made from corn) or Ocean (made from sugar cane). Tito’s is cheaper and more available, Ocean is better tasting.

    I don’t know if Campari is grain free or not, so I’m not going to run my mouth about it. However, a little quick research tells me that it is likely made from neutral grain spirits.

    Sorry if this causes anyone trouble in their drink choices, but I wanted to throw in a little of the fairly obsessive research I’ve done in the subject.

    Also worth noting – the presence of grain spirit in an alcohol doesn’t mean it’s not gluten free necessarily. The distillation process is believed to destroy gluten, so if that’s your issue, you’re probably ok with any distilled alcohol (80 proof or above). However, if your issue is with grain or wheat (mine is) you may not fare as well.

    I hope this helps!

  14. Rebecca says:

    Makers Mark and smirnoff are not gluten free. why do you think they are?

    • Carl says:

      Why would you think that Smirnoff isn’t gluten free when it’s made from corn? It is only the mixers that cause any trouble.

  15. Jeanine says:

    I agree with Jon and Rebecca, this list is not really safe for people with gluten sensitivity or celiac. Some people still react to distilled liquors (even if distillation removes the gluten) and sometimes mash is added back in after distillation. There could also be residues left over on the barrels (barrels used for whisky have usually been used for other liquors before).

    Those who are not too sensitive may be able to tolerate some of these alcohols but others won’t so people should be cautious. Potato vodka, tequila and rum should all be safe, however.

    • Hi Jeanine, thanks for putting in your two cents! I did a lot of research for this list and did not include alcohols that were made from gluten. Smirnoff and Maker’s Mark are both made from corn and I found several sources that ok-ed them, including Here are a few sources:

      There definitely is some debate over what comes out in the distillation process, but that was not the purpose of this post. Just to identify brands that claim to be 100 percent safe for people with celiac disease and gluten-sensitivity.


      • Mary says:

        As per the Maker’s Mark official website: the ingredients of Maker’s Mark “The grain ingredients of Maker’s Mark® include corn, red winter wheat and barley. All the corn and wheat is selected from handpicked area farms that have the same sort of limestone soil content as Maker’s Mark’s® spring water.” source:
        PLEASE STOP PERPETUATING the idea that you are SURE these are safe: “I did a lot of research for this list and did not include alcohols that were made from gluten.” Your research failed to include the manufacturers clearly stated ingredients listed on their website. I appreciate your effort to try to help others in their quest for gluten-free alcohol, but you cannot state it is only made from corn.

        • Mary, I usually consider to be a reliable resource. I’m very sad to learn that they’ve been promoting Makers in vein. I’ve put an addendum on the post. Thanks for sharing.

  16. Have you tried @CooranbongVodka and @bomboravodka…

  17. Linda says:

    I have Celiac and am trying Not to stop enjoying my love for a good bourbon. This being said, I seem to get a major rash after drinking it. I’ve ruled out other culprits, does anyone else have this issue? It’s very frustrating…

  18. Michelle says:

    I have celiac and cannot tolerate Maker’s or any other bourbon (big sigh). I can drink Carolan’s Irish Cream, without any problems. Go figure.

  19. Caryopteris says:

    Helpful article, except for the use of abbreviations and not saying what the alcohol is – just brand names. Not knowing this stuff is why I rarely order alcohol. I have to spend too much time finding FOOD I can eat to look up alcohols. But thanks for the list, even if I will have to look stuff up.

  20. jay says:

    i have only done research by searching the internet, but i have come to the conclusion that bacardi superior is not gluten free. bacardi products are supposedly gluten free except for bacardi silver because it is a malt based drink. according to my research, bacardi superior is bacardi silver. there is no product on their site called bacardi silver. bacardi superior is silver aged 2 years. hope this helps any other celiacs out there

  21. marlene says:

    Do they not have a stamp on bottles like they have on food for gluten free alcohol, stating glutenfree

  22. Kellie Sue says:

    Thank you so much for this article. I’m extremely allergic to wheat so I appreciate this. And because being gluten free is sort of trendy a lot of people think you’re just bs’ing when you ask about that. I only drink two kinds of vodka: Chopin, which is a pure potato vodka, and Uncle Tito’s. I prefer chopin though. I did use Maker’s Mark over the holidays to baste a turkey, but I had a reaction to it after drinking it in a cocktail. So I agree with your post script for caution there.

    • Thanks Kellie – that’s great to know! I have heard good things about Chopin. And now since writing the original wish I had put Titos on the list. It was a newer brand when I first wrote this post, but definitely become much easier to find especially at bars in NYC. Thanks for the rec!

  23. Visra says:

    Try BOMBORA vodka, it is made out of grapes and is gluten free. Very good.

  24. Rachel says:

    Thanks for this great list! It is both well written and informative.
    Very thankful there is so much information out there about GF and a healthier approach overall. Xx

  25. Laurie says:

    It was interesting to learn the different reactions people have to products depending on whether they have celiac or wheat or grain allergy. Ugh so much to think about. Can make you want to glare jealously at people who just simply eat!

  26. Linn Bennett says:

    i thought I read that Campari’s coloring is now artificial…as a result I switched to
    Violet Feres Byrrh as my apertif, which appears to be GF

  27. Pingback: Southern-Style Peach Cobbler with Maple Sugar, Bourbon + Brown Butter {Gluten-Free} |

  28. Susan Autore says:

    I have not seen Brandy mentioned here. It is distilled wine and a good gluten free option.

  29. Juddy Mac says:

    Most vodkas are made with grain, smirinoff will make most Celiacs sick. Many wines and brandys are kept in casks sealed with a wheat based glue, unless the manufacturer will guarantee they are gluten free, they will make most Celiacs sick. Many ciders are labeled “naturally” gluten free, but are manufactured in beer breweries causing almost inevitable contamination. They will make most Celiacs sick when they drink the bottle from the contaminated batch. The only option I have found for reliable information, is to call the 800 number on the manufacturers label. If they can not tell you, without hesitation, or extraneous explanation, “the product in your inquiry is positively gluten free”, it will make most Celiac sufferers sick. We all get tired of not being able to enjoy so many different things, but getting painful diarrhea at a party, at a festival, concert, restaurant, or any public event, is a worse alternative. If you have Celiacs, websites can help in the search for more GF products, but always confirm by calling the 800 number on the label before consuming anything. I know this is not what many people newly diagnosed with Celiacs want to hear, but it is true. You may want to know, the Carlo Rossi website says their wines have no gluten products or contamination in their making, but don’t listen to me, call first!

  30. Pingback: Southern-Style Peach Cobbler with Maple Sugar, Bourbon + Brown Butter {Gluten-Free} | The Bojon Gourmet

  31. d Kunze says:

    If you all want a fabulous beer here’s a real treat for all you gluten free beer drinkers:
    Lammsbräu Pure Lager, a refreshing Pilsner from Germany that is “handcrafted to remove gluten.” Unlike most gluten-removed beers, typically brewed from sorghum or millet, Lammsbräu Pure Lager is fully organic, brewed with all-natural barley, malt, and hops. I am NOT severely sensitive to gluten but I do have many of the discomforts should I intake gluten by accident. But this beer is the sooooooooooo delicious and when poured for the bottle you even get a head of foam like regular beers do. I have enjoyed drinking this with no problems. The downside is: it’s expensive!!! $5 a BOTTLE!!! So for a 6 pack you’re looking at $30!! Thats why I started by saying ‘for special occasions only. It’s soooo delicious though.

  32. Pingback: The Thankful Edition, Introducing our Holiday Series | Wholistic Pediatrics and Family Care

  33. Marco says:

    This is absolutely incorrect. Markers Mark is 100% made with red winter wheat and barley. This is misleading to the gluten free community-some people who can’t process gluten are allergic to the actual grain, such as my self. Had a bad reaction to Markers Mark last night and did some more research. Please reference these companies websites before consumption. Smirnoff is a wheat vodka. Markers Mark uses wheat and barley.

  34. Pingback: The 25 Best Healthy Boozy Recipes for Whiskey, Rum, Tequila, and Beyond - Feed Me Phoebe

  35. chris says:

    I’m a little bemused by Smirnoff, as they advertise themselves as a triple distilled all-grain vodka, all-grain being the operative word here. Gin also? As gin is made from vodka? Not all vodkas are created equal of course, some vodkas here I the u.k are made from potatoes, but pretty much all vodkas are off limits for gluten free folk. And gins. A little research people. Rums and tequilas and drinks made from base alcohol (is ammaretto) tend to be safe choices in general, but when in doubt, don’t drink it. You may be amazed to find out how many clearing agents in wine and cider also contain gluten products hidden under ‘scientific’ names. Also many beer manufacturers in the UK claim to make gluten free beer (is brewdog) but use barley as their main ingredient! Not gluten free people!

  36. Kris says:

    If Bacardi silver is the one with gluten, then why use the pic of bicardi silver as one of the best gluten free ones? Whoever runs this site might want to update that so it doesn’t mislead people.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *